N.Y. Life Ins. Co. v. Fletcher, 117 U.S. 519 (1886)
Case details
Bluebook Citation
N.Y. Life Ins. Co. v. Fletcher, 117 U.S. 519 (1886)
Full caption
NEW YORK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY v. FLETCHER.
Country
United States
Jurisdiction
Federal
Court
Supreme Court of the United States
Decided
Mar. 29, 1886
NEW YORK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY v. FLETCHER.
ERROR TO THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI.
Argued March 19, 1886.—Decided March 29, 1886.
A person applied in St. Louis to an agent of a New York Insurance Company, for insurance on his life. The agent, under general instructions, questioned him on subjects material to the risk. He made answers which, if correctly written down, and transmitted to the company, would have probably caused it to decline the risk. The agent, without the knowledge of the applicant, wrote down false answers, concealing the truth, which were signed by the applicant without reading, and by the agent transmitted to the company, and the company thereupon assumed the risk. It was conditioned in the policy that the answers were jpart of it, and that no statement to the agent not thus transmitted should be binding on his principal; and a copy of the answers with these conditions conspicuously printed upon it, accompanied the policy. Held : That the policy was void.
Wall. 152, distinguished.
If an applicant for life insurance is required to answer questions relating to material facts in writing, and to subscribe his name thereto as part of the application upon which the policy is issued, it is his duty to read the answers before signing them, and it will be presumed that he did read them. If a policy for life insurance on which premiums have been paid is void by reason of untrue representations as to material facts in the application, made without design on the part of the applicant, the only recovery which can be had on the policy after the assured’s death is for the premiums paid on it.
The New York Life Insurance Company, on the 22d of December, 1877, issued at its home office in the city of New York to Chinonda S. Alford a policy of insurance upon his life for the sum of $10,000. The consideration was $263.80 paid at the time, and the promise to pay a like sum on the 22d of December each year. The company is a corporation under the laws of New York, but it also transacts business in Missouri through agents residing there, and, of course, with reference to the business done in that State, is subject to its laws. The assured was a resident of Missouri, and in December, 1877, he applied to an agent of the company there for p. 520such a policy, and submitted to an examination. He also made certain statements and representations respecting himself, his life, and his past and present health, to which he appended a declaration, warranting their truthfulness and agreeing that they should be the basis of any contract between him and the company, and that if they, or any of them, were in any respect untrue, the policy which might be issued thereon should be void, and that all moneys paid on account of the insurance should be forfeited; and further agreeing, that, inasmuch as only the officers at the home office had authority to determine whether or not a policy should issue on any application, and as they acted only on the Written statements and representations referred to, no statements or representations made or information given to the persons soliciting or taking the application for the policy, should be binding on the company or in any manner affect its rights, unless they were reduced to writing and presented at the home office in the application. The statements and representations with this declaration accompanying the application and forming a part of it, were forwarded to the home office. The policy was thereupon issued and sent to its agent at St. Louis for delivery to the assured. It recited that it was issued in consideration and upon the faith of the statements and representations contained in his application; all of which had been warranted by him to be true, and also in consideration of the cash payment and the annual premiums to be paid. It stipulated for the payment of the amount of the insurance within sixty days after due notice and satisfactory proof of his death, subject to the conditions specified therein. To the policy was annexed a copy of the application, and upon it was endorsed the following notice in red type and conspicuously printed:
“For the information of the assured, and in order that any unintentional errors or omissions which hereafter may be found to exist may be corrected, an abstract of the application upon which this policy is based may be found in the third page within. If corrections are desired, when satisfactory to the company, a certificate to that effect will be issued over the signature of the president and actuary.”
The cash payment was made by the assured on the receipt of the policy, and the subsequent annual premiums were regularly paid to the agents of the company in Missouri until his death, which occurred September 24, 1880. The plaintiff was appointed his executor. Due notice and proof of his death were given to the company. Among the documents furnished was the affidavit of a witness, who testified that he had been the physician of the assured for ten years, and had attended him at one time for diabetes, and that he died of that disease. Payment of. the insurance money was refused on the alleged ground of false statements and representations in the application. Thereupon the executor brought this action in a court of Missouri,, and upon the petition of the company it was re-, moved to the Circuit Court of the United States.
The petition, which is the designation given to the first pleading in an action under the system of procedure in Missouri, alleges the incorporation of the defendant under the laws of New York, and its license to do business in Missouri; the issue of the policy; the payment of the premiums; the death of the assured ; the appointment of the plaintiff as executor ; the giving of notice and furnishing of proof of the death and the non-payment of the insurance money; and prays for judgment for the amount with interest. The company answered, admitting its incorporation under the laws of New York, and the issue of the policy, but set up that it was executed at the home office upon the faith of the answers and statements contained in the assured’s written application, which were warranted to be true ; that it was stated in the application that he never had a disease of the kidneys or any serious disease, and had never been seriously ill, and had no regular medical attendant, whereas he had been afflicted with diabetes, which is a serious disease of the kidneys, and had been under medical treatment for it; that such statement was not only false but was material to the risk; that he actually died of the disease which he thus concealed ; and that the policy was void by reason of these false statements.
The plaintiff replied that two agents of the company at St. Louis, who were personally acquainted with the assured and p. 522•522 OCTOBER TERM, 1885.
knew his past and then physical condition, had solicited him on different occasions to take out a policy in the company; that he told each of them on those occasions that he did not believe he was insurable; that they knew he had been in bad health and had been under medical treatment for diabetes, though he thought he was then well; that they assured him that he was insurable, that the fact that he had had the disease made no difference, and that if he would take out a policy and pay the premiums required he would have no trouble; that finally, about the 18th of December, 1877, he consented to take a policy; that they then told him it would be necessary for him to answer certain questions as a matter of form ; that one of them thereupon read to him certain questions from a printed blank, and as he answered them the other pretended to take down and write in the blank the substance of the answers as given, not reading over to the assured what he had written, nor consulting him about it, nor informing him what it was, but saying that what he did was a mere formality; that when he was asked with respect to his having had any disease of the kidneys he replied that his condition was well known to the agents, who were aware that he had been sick and under treatment by Doctor Brokaw for diabetes, and that the doctor’s office was opposite, and they could go there and find out everything they wanted to know; that the assured had faithfully answered all the questions, but the agents inserted in the blanks false answers ; that he had no reason to suppose that the answers were taken down differently from those given; that after answering all their questions he was asked to sign his name to the paper to identify him as the party for whose benefit the policy was to be issued, and for that purpose he signed the paper twice, without reading it or the written answers ; that the agents did not read to him any part of the application except the questions, and did not read the clause set forth in the defendant’s answer, nor call attention to the fact that his signatures wTere intended as an acceptance or assent to that clause; that when the policy was delivered to him he neither read it nor the copy of the application attached to it; that the agent who delivered it informed him that it was p. 523all right, and he was insured, and he gave no further attention to the matter; that the annual premiums, as they fell due, were paid to said agent, who received them with full knowledge of all the facts; and that, therefore, the company was estopped from pretending that any of the answers as written rendered the policy void.
The company demurred to this reply, as constituting in law no cause of action and no reply to the facts set forth in the answer, but the demurrer was overruled.
On the trial it was proved by the company that the assured was a resident of St. Louis; and that Dr. Brokaw had been his regular physician for ten years, and had treated him some years before his death for diabetes, of which disease he died.
It was also proved that on the day he made application to the defendant he also applied to the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company, of Pennsylvania, for insurance on his life, and stated that he had had diabetes in 1875, and that Dr. Brokaw was his physician. That company refused to issue a life policy, but granted a fifteen-year endowment policy at a largely increased premium.
It was also proved that diabetes is commonly known as a disease of the kidneys, though primarily a disease of nutrition and not necessarily affecting their structure in its early stages; that it is a very serious disease and of doubtful curability; that the policy was issued solely upon the written application; and that no other application, statement, or representation was received from the applicant.
The law of Missouri provides that “no misrepresentation made in obtaining or securing a policy of insurance on the life or lives of any person or persons shall be deemed material or render the policy void unless the matter misrepresented shall have actually contributed to the contingency or event on which the policy is to become due and payable, and whether it so contributed in any case shall be a question for the jury;” Rev. Stat., Missouri, 1879, § 597B; and that in suits brought upon life policies “ no defence based upon misrepresentation in obtaining or securing the same shall be valid, unless the defendant shall, at or before the trial, deposit in court, for the p. 524benefit of the plaintiffs, the premiums received on such policies.” Id. § 5977.
Under this last section the defendant tendered in court to the plaintiff $888.26, the premiums received, with interest to the date of trial; but the plaintiff declined to receive the amount in full payment.
On the part of the plaintiff a witness was allowed, against the objection of the defendant, to testify to statements, made by the assured and the agent at the time of the application, tending to establish some of the matters alleged in reply to the answer. He could not give the specific words used, but he remembered that in one part of the conversation Alford stood up, at the time he was asked as to his having had kidney disease, and pointed through the window and said: “ My medical examiner has an office across the way; you can go there and find out from him. I have been afflicted in the kidneys, but he says I am well, and I feel well now.” He also testified that at one time he heard the assured say to the agent: “ Your company ought not to insure me; you know I have been afflicted with kidney disease;” and that the agent replied: “ Just give me your application and I will see if I can get it through.”
The witness was also permitted to testify that he did not think the paper was read over to the assured. He did not hear it read, nor did he remember the questions asked, except the specific one as to the kidneys, and he remembered that because the assured stood up and pointed across the street.
There was no evidence that the application was not read by the assured before he signed it, or that there was any imposition practised upon him, or that after receiving the policy he applied to correct his answers, which, as written down, are conceded to be false.
Upon the conclusion of the testimony, the defendant requested the court to charge the jury, among other things, substantially as follows.
1. That it is competent for any party, corporation, or individual, employing an agent in the negotiation of a contract, whether of insurance or otherwise, to limit his powers, p. 525provided the limitation is brought home to the knowledge of the other contracting party, otherwise the principal will be bound by the apparent as well as the actual powers of the agent; and as, in this case, the limitation was made a part of the contract between the parties, it was binding upon them.
2. That the stipulation between the parties, limiting the powers of the soliciting agent and providing that the contract should be based upon the written application, was binding upon the parties, and it was, therefore, immaterial what may have been said by or to the agent at the time of making the application, which was not reduced to writing and presented to the officers of the company at the home office in Newr York.
3. That whether the statements and answers contained in the application of the assured were made by him or not, yet when he afterwards received the policy, with a copy of the application attached and a memorandum endorsed thereon, calling his attention to the copy thus attached, with a request that any errors in the application be reported to the company for correction, it was his duty to report any answers incorrectly written down and thus enable the company to correct them; and that by his failure to do so he must be presumed to have accepted the policy upon the faith of the answers, and to have acquiesced and agreed that it should remain as the basis of the contract of insurance. But the court refused to give any of these instructions, and the defendant excepted. It recognized, however, in its charge, the competency of the company to limit the powers of the agent, and the binding force of the limitation if brought home to the other contracting party, and instructed the jury that there was such limitation in the present case; that the company was not bound by any representations to or by the assured, unless they were put in writing and submitted to the company; that, therefore, what was contained in the application must be regarded as constituting the basis of the contract, unless it could be avoided for fraud ; that if the jury found that at the time of making the application he told the agent that he had had diabetes and referred him to his physician concerning it, and that such agent committed a fraud upon the assured by inserting false answers in the application p. 526and by suppressing the answers actually given, and by concealing from the assured what he had written in the application, and thereby induced him to sign it without knowing what it contained, then the plaintiff was not estopped to recover. The court also charged that if the assured ascertained before the contract was consummated, that is, before the policy was delivered to him and the first premium paid, that the agent had committed a fraud upon him and upon the company, it was his duty to stop and decline to go any further with the transaction; but if he did not discover this before the policy was delivered and the first premium paid, he was not called upon afterwards to take any steps for the cancellation of the contract. To this the defendant excepted. The plaintiff obtained a verdict for the full amount of the insurance money with interest, upon which judgment was rendered.
Mr. Frederick N. Judson, with whom was Mr. John II. Overall, for plaintiff in error.
Mr. George D. Reynolds for defendant in error.
I. The contract of insurance in this case is a Missouri contract and to be determined by the laws of that State, (a.) The cause of action undoubtedly accrued in Missouri, where the death occurred. Rippstein v. St. Louis Mutual Life Insurance Co., 57 Missouri, 86. (5.) As the New York Life Insurance Company could only do business in Missouri on terms prescribed by the laws of Missouri, Paul v. State of Virginia, 8 Wall. 168, when it issued policies or did business in that State, it subjected itself to the laws thereof, and its contracts of insurance, made under the license granted by the State to do business therein, are to be interpreted according to the laws of Missouri. Its policies, solicited by its agents in Missouri, are entered into and accepted by the citizens of Missouri, with a view to the local law, and are to be interpreted thereunder. Pritchards. Norton, 106 IT. S. 124 ; Bank of Augusta v. Earle, 13 Pet. 519; Taylor v. Holmes, 14 Fed. Rep. 505. So held uniformly by United States courts in Missouri since the passage of the act of March 23, 1874, Rev. Stat. Missouri, 1879, p. 527§§ 5976, 5977. White n . Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., 4 Dillon, 177; Fletcher v. New York Life Insurance Co., 13 Fed. Rep. 526. See also Holmes v. Charter Oak Life Insurance Co., 131 Mass. 64. It follows that §§ 5976, 5977 Rev. Stat. Missouri apply to this contract, and under them it is to be noted: (1) that the doctrine of warranty as Understood in insurance contracts, is done away with, and misrepresentation is not to be deemed material, unless the matter misrepresented actually contributed to the loss, which is to be determined by the jury, see § 5976 ; nor 2d, shall such defence be available, unless the defendant at or before the trial, tenders or returns the premiums received. See § 5977. See White v. Conn. Mut. Life Ins. Co. supra.
II. The main question presented by the case is, whether the clause in the application and in the policy, to the effect that no statements, representations or information made or given by or to the person soliciting or taking the application, or to any person, shall be binding on the company, or in any manner affect its rights, unless such statements, etc., be reduced to writing and presented to the officers of the company at the home office, in the application referred to, is such a notice to the applicant, or to the insured, of the limitation of the powers of the soliciting agent, as exempts the company from responsibility and liability on the policy, when the solicitor is proved to have fraudulently inserted wrong answers and concealed the fact that he had done so from the applicant. As to this, it is respectfully submitted, that this clause is nothing more than an attempt to make the solicitor the agent of the applicant, instead of the agent of the insurer, and that it falls within the principle of the cases of Ins. Co. v. Wilkinson, 13 Wall. 222; Ins. Co. n . Mahone, 21 Wall. 152; Neva Jersey Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Baker, 94 U. S. 610. See also note to Carpenter n . Washington Insurance Co., 2 American Lead. Cas., 5th ed., 919 ; Bliss on Life Ins., 2d ed., §§ 76-81; May on Insurance, 2d ed., §§ 136-144, 497-499.
III. Roselein continued, as agent of the company to receive premiums, knowing the statements in the application to be false. That estops his principal. Wing v. Howey, 27 Eng.
Law & Eq., 140; Ins. Co. v. McCain, 96 U. S. 84 ; Commercial Ins. Co. v. Ives, 56 Ill. 402; ^Etna Ins. Co. n . McGuire, 51 Ill. 342.
. IV. Counsel for plaintiff contend that because the effect of false statements in the application is avoided, and a recovery had notwithstanding their insertion, therefore the recovery must be on a new and different contract. That this is not so, see Ins. Co. v. Wilkinson, 13 Wall, 222, and especially the brief of counsel, 226-229.
Mr. Reynolds then pointed out the distinctions between the Mahone case supra, Ryan v. World Mut. Life Ins. Co., 41 Conn. 168, and Loehner n . Home Mutual Ins. Co., 17 Missouri, 247, and contended that the latter case was no longer law in Missouri, citing Horwitz v. Equity Mutual Ins. Co., 40 Missouri, 557; Franklin v. Atlantic Fire Ins. Co., 42 Missouri, 456; Combs n . Hannibal Savings de Ins. Co., 43 Missouri, 148; Hayward v. National Ins. Co., 52 Missouri, 181.
Mr . Just ice Fie ld , after stating the case as above reported, delivered the opinion of the court.
It is conceded that the statements and representations contained in the answers, as written, of the assured to the questions propounded to him in his application, respecting his past and present health, were material to the risk to be assumed by the company, and that the insurance was made upon the faith of them, and upon his agreement accompanying them that, if they were false in any respect, the policy to be issued upon them should be void. It is sought to meet and overcome the force of this conceded fact by proof that he never made the statements and representations to which his name is signed; that he truthfully answered those questions; that false answers written by an agent of the company were inserted in place of those actually given, and were forwarded with the application • to the home office ; and it is contended that, such proof being made, the plaintiff is not estopped from recovering. But on the assumption that the fact as to the answers was as stated, and that no further obligation rested upon the assured in connection with the policy, it is not easy to perceive how the p. 529company can be precluded from setting up their falsity, or how any rights upon the policy ever accrued to him. It is, of course, not necessary to argue that the agent had no authority from the company to falsify the answers, or that the assured could acquire no right by virtue of his falsified answers. Both he and the company were deceived by the fraudulent conduct of the agent. The assured was placed in the position of making false representations in order to secure a valuable contract which, upon a truthful report of his condition, could not have been obtained. By them the company was imposed upon and induced to enter into the contract. In such a case, assuming that both parties acted in good faith, justice would require that the contract be cancelled and the premiums returned. As the present action is not for such a cancellation, the only recovery which the plaintiff could properly have upon the facts he asserts, taken in connection with the limitation upon the powers of the agent, is for the amount of the premiums paid, and to that only would he be entitled by virtue of the statute of Missouri.
But the case as presented by the record is by no means as favorable to him as we have assumed. It was his duty to read the application he signed. He knew that upon it the policy would be issued, if issued at all. It would introduce great uncertainty in all business transactions, if a party making written proposals for a contract, with representations to induce its execution, should, be allowed to show, after it had been obtained, that he did not know the contents of his proposals, and to enforce it, notwithstanding their falsity as to matters essential to its obligation and validity. Contracts could not be made, or business fairly conducted, if such a rule should prevail ; and there is no reason why it should be applied merely to contracts of insurance. There is nothing in their nature which distinguishes them in this particular from others. But here the right is asserted to prove not only that the assured did not make the statements contained in his answers, but that he never read the application, and to recover upon a contract obtained by representations admitted to be false, just as though they were true. If he had read even the printed lines of his
VOL. CXVII—34
application, he would have seen that it stipulated that the rights of the company could in no respect be affected by his verbal statements, or by those of its agents, unless the same were reduced to writing and forwarded with his application to the home office. The company, like any other principal, could limit the authority of its agents, and thus bind all parties dealing with them with knowledge of the limitation. It must be presumed that he read the application, and was cognizant of the limitations therein expressed.
In Globe Insurance Co. v. Wolf, 95 IT. S. 329, the policy declared that the agents of the company were not authorized to waive forfeitures, and this court held that effect must be given to the provision, except so far as the subsequent acts of the company permitted it to be disregarded.
In Insurance Co. v. Norton, 96 IT. S. 240, the policy contained an express declaration that the agents of the company were not authorized to make, alter, or abrogate contracts, or waive forfeitures, and this court held that the company could have insisted upon those terms had it so chosen.
In Loehner v. Home Mutual Insurance Co., the Supreme Court of Missouri passed upon this point. 17 Missouri, 247, 256. The charter of that company provided that, if the assured failed to state in his application, which was made a part of the policy, any encumbrance that existed on the insured premises, his policy should be void. There was also endorsed on the policy a memorandum that the company would not be bound by any statement of the agent unless contained in the application. The answer to the action on the policy set up that the application did not truly state the encumbrances. A small encumbrance upon the premises was not stated, and on the trial evidence was offered that its existence was made known to the agent of the company7 at the time of the application, but that he refused to write it down, saying that the amount was too trifling. The evidence was excluded, and the Supreme Court sustained the ruling, holding that the objection that the encumbrance was not stated could not be obviated in that way. “ Independently of the statute of the State,” said the court, “ which required the encumbrance to be expressed in p. 531the policy at the peril of its being void, there was a memorandum endorsed on it which made known that the company would be bound by no statement made to the agent not contained in the application. The facts being as represented, they could not give the plaintiffs a right of action on the policy in the teeth of the statute and against the terms of the contract. If the conduct of the agent was such as is alleged, he was guilty of a gross fraud, as is shown by his setting up this defence, which would avoid the policy and give a right of action for the recovery of the premium, but could not, for the reason given, entitle the plaintiff to an action on the policy.”
The present case is very different from Insurance Co. v. Wilkinson, 13 Wall. 222, and from Insurance Co. v. Mahone, 21 Wall. 152. In neither of these cases was any limitation upon the power of the agent brought to the notice of the assured. Reference was made to the interested and officious zeal of insurance agents to procure contracts, and to the fact that parties who were induced to take out policies rarely knew anything concerning the company or its officers, but relied upon the agent who had persuaded them to effect insurance, “ as the full and complete representative of the company in all-that is said or done in making the contract,” and the court held that the powers of the agent are prima facie coextensive with the business entrusted to his care, and would not be narrowed by limitations not communicated to the person with whom he dealt. Where such agents, not limited in their authority, undertake to prepare applications and take down answers, they will be deemed as acting for the companies. In such cases it may well be held that the description of the risk, though nominally proceeding from the assured, should be regarded as the act of the company. Nothing in these views has any bearing upon the present case. Here the power of the agent was limited, and notice of.such limitation given by being embodied in the application, which the assured was required to make and sign, and which, as we have stated, he must be presumed to have read. He is, therefore, bound by its statements.
The case of Ryan v. World Mutual Life Ins. Co., 41 Conn. 168, is in some respects similar to the one before us. There a p. 532policy obtained on the life of Patrick Ryan for the benefit of his wife declared that it was issued and accepted on the condition and agreement that the statements and declarations made in the application therefor, and on the faith of which it was issued, were in all respects true. The application was a part of the policy. It appeared that when the application was made, he was asked whether he had had any of the following diseases: bronchitis, consumption, spitting of blood, or any serious diséase, and the answer, as written, was that he had bad “ none of them.” To the enquiry whether, during the previous seven years, he had had any severe sickness or disease, or had employed or consulted any physician, the answer as "written was “ no.” The authority of the agent was limited to receiving the application, forwarding it to the home office, receiving, countersigning, and delivering the policy, and collecting the premiums. The insured having died, action upon the policy was brought by his widow. On the trial she offered to prove, not that the answers were true, but that different answers "were in fact given, both by her and him, and that the answers were wrongly written by the local agent of the company without the knowledge or consent of herself or her husband. The application was signed without being read. It was held that the company was not bound by the policy; that the power of the agent would not be extended to an act done by him in fraud of the company and for the benefit of the insured, especially where it was in the power of the assured by reasonable diligence, to defeat the fraudulent intent; that the signing of the application without reading it or hearing it read, was inexcusable negligence; and that a party is bound to know what he signs. After observing that the courts of the State had construed the powers of an insurance agent liberally, and held that, in writing the application and explaining interrogatories and the meaning of the terms used, he was to be regarded as the agent of the company, and, referring to the case of Insurance Company v. Wilkinson, in 13th Wallace, the court said: “ But it cannot be supposed that these defendants intended to clothe this agent with authority to perpetrate a fraud upon themselves. That he deliberately intended to defraud them is p. 533manifest. He well knew that if correct answers were given no policy would issue. Prompted by some motive he sought to obtain a policy by means of false answers. His duty required him not only to write the answers truly as given by the applicant, but also to communicate to his principal any other fact material to the risk which might come to his knowledge from any other source. His conduct in this case was a gross violation of duty, in fraud of his principal, and in the interest of the other party. To hold the principal responsible for his acts, arid assist in the consummation of the fraud, would be monstrous injustice. When an agent is apparently acting for his principal, but is really acting for himself or third persons, and against his principal, there is no agency in respect to that transaction, at least as between the agent himself, or the person for whom he is really acting, and the principal. , . The fraud could not be perpetrated by the agent alone. The aid of the plaintiff or the insured, either as an accomplice or as an instrument, was essential. If she was an accomplice, then she participated in the fraud, and the case falls within the principle of Lewis v. The Phoenix Mutual Life Lns. Co., 39 Conn. 100. If she was an instrument she was so because of her own negligence, and that is equally a bar to her right to recover. She says that she and her husband signed the application without reading it and without its being read to them. That of itself was inexcusable negligence. The application contained her agreements and representations in an important contract. When she signed it she was bound to know what she signed. The law requires that the insured shall not only, in good faith, answer all the interrogatories correctlv, but shall use reasonable diligence to see that the answers are correctly written. It is for his interest to do so, and the insurer has the right to presume that he will do it. He has it in his power to prevent this species of fraud and the insurer has not.” 41 Conn. 171, 172. With these views we fully agree.
The instruction given to the jury in the case before us is, in effect, that the assured was bound by his application if it was not avoided for fraud, and that it was so avoided by reason of the false statements contained in it, and that, therefore, the p. 534plaintiff, as his representative, could recover. But if the application was avoided, it would seem to be a necessary consequence that the policy itself was also avoided, and his right limited to recovering the premiums paid. But such was not the conclusion of the court. It directed the jury that if the application was avoided for fraud, he could recover. It does not seem to have occurred to the court that had the answers been truthfully reported, and the fact of the assured having had diabetes within a recent period been thus disclosed, the insurance would in all probability have been refused. If the policy can stand with the application avoided, it must stand upon parol statements not communicated to the company. This, of course, cannot be seriously maintained in the face of its notice that only statements in writing forwarded to its officers would be considered. A curious result is the outcome of the instruction. If the agents committed no fraud the plaintiff cannot recover, for the answers reported are not true; but if they did commit the imputed fraud he may recover, although, upon the answers actually given, if truly reported, no policy would have issued. Such anomalous conclusions cannot be maintained.
There is another view of this case equally fatal to a recovery. Assuming that the answers of the assured were falsified, as alleged, the fact would be at once disclosed by the copy of the application, annexed to the policy, to wThich his attention "was called. He would have discovered by inspection that a fraud had been perpetrated, not only upon himself but upon the company, and it would have been his duty to make the fact known to the company. He could not hold the policy without approving the action of the agents and thus becoming a participant in the fraud committed. The retention of the policy was an approval of the application and of its statements. The consequences of that approval cannot after his death be avoided.
The court charged the jury that if the assured had discovered the fraud before the policy was delivered and the first premium paid, it would have been his duty to decline to go any further with the transaction; but if he did not discover the fraud until after such delivery and payment, he was not called upon to take any steps for the cancellation of the p. 535contract. In other words, the jury were told that the assured might take to himself the benefit of the fraud without responsibility for it, if he did not discover it until after it was consummated—a doctrine without authority and wholly indefensible. No one can claim the benefit of an executory contract fraudulently obtained, after the discovery of the fraud, without approving and sanctioning it.
In American Ins. Co. v. Neiberger, 74 Missouri, 167, the assured agreed with the agent of the company that the policy to be issued should contain a clause giving him a right to cancel it at the end of the year. The policy issued contained no such clause; but he retained it several months before he returned it. The court, after observing that when the application does not attempt to set forth all the provisions which the policy to be issued must contain, and the agent represents that the policy will contain certain stipulations which are not unlawful, then the policy must contain them, or the assured would not be bound to accept it. “ But in such case,” said the court, “ it will be the duty of the insured, when he receives the policy, promptly to examine the same, and, if it does not contain the stipulations agreed upon, to at once notify the company of such fact, and of his refusal to accept said policy. The policy in this case was issued on the 25th day of January, 1875, and was not rejected by the defendant until May 10,1875. If the policy was received by the defendant soon after the date on -which it purports to have been issued, we think he waited too long to elect "whether he would receive the policy without the stipulation in regard to cancellation, or refuse to accept it, because it did not contain such stipulation. After such delay he will be deemed to have accepted the policy as issued.”
The case of Richardson n . Maine Ins. Co., 46 Maine, 394, is a stronger one in illustration of this doctrine of acceptance. There an application for insurance "was made to an agent of the company. He thereupon filled one containing a statement that there was no mortgage on the property to be insured, and without the knowledge of the applicant signed his name thereto. A policy was accordingly issued, which declared that it was made and accepted in reference to the p. 536application, and that the assured, by accepting it, covenanted that the application contained a just, full, and true statement of all the facts and circumstances in regard to the condition, situation, value, and risk of the property insured, and that if any fact or circumstance were not fairly represented, the policy should be void. Action having been brought upon the policy, the company denied its liability on the ground that the application had represented that there was no such mortgage, when in fact, one existed. The court held that the assured, by accepting the policy, was bound by its covenants, and that he ratified the application.
It is unnecessary to pursue the subject further. We are clear that the court below erred, both in refusing the instructions asked and in its charge to the jury in the particulars mentioned.
Its judgment must, therefore, be reversed, and the cause remanded for a new trial.
YALE LOCK MANUFACTURING COMPANY v., SARGENT.
APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES FOR THE
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK.
Argued March 12,15,1886.—Decided April 5,1886.
Claim 1 of reissued letters patent No. 4696, granted to James Sargent, January 2, 1872, for an “ improvement in locks,” on an application filed September 25, 1871, the original patent, No. 57,574, having been granted to him August 28, 1866, namely, “1. In a combination lock for safe or vault doors, a bolt, I, which turns on a pivot or bearing, when said bolt, 1, is used in a lock having no ordinary sliding lock-bolt, and in connection with the separate bolt-work of the door, and so arranged as to receive the pressure of the said bolt-work without transmitting it to the wheels or other equivalent works of the lock,” is not invalid, as being an unlawful expansion of claim 1 of the original patent, namely, “ 1. The rotating tumbler I, when separated and isolated in action from the permutation wheels, and so arranged that any inward pressure upon the bolt will be exerted upon the bearing of p. 537said tumbler, and have no action nor effect upon the said permutation wheels, substantially as and for the purpose herein specified.”
The invention covered by claim 1 of the reissue defined, and certain prior structures held not to have anticipated it.
The defendant’s lock held to be an infringement of that claim.
The plaintiff granted no licenses under his patent, but sold locks made by himself containing the invention. The defendant sold infringing locks at less prices than the plaintiff, and compelled the plaintiff to lower his prices. As the turning bolt was an essential feature in each of the two locks, and the plaintiff could not sell his patented device unless in a lock, and thus made a profit on the entire lock, and was deprived of that profit by such enforced reduction of prices : Held, that the infringement caused the entire loss of the plaintiff, after allowing a proper sum for any other patented device contained in the defendant’s lock and for any other causes which gave to the defendant an advantage in selling his lock.
Such loss on the locks sold by the plaintiff, by the reduction of price, was allowed to the plaintiff as damages, in a suit in equity for infringement, although . the defendant made no profit. The plaintiff, as legal owner of the patent, was entitled to recover the damages, although he had a partner in making and selling the locks.
As the bill alleged infringement of the reissue generally, and the answer set up that the reissue was not for the same invention as the original patent, and one of the claims of the reissue not disclaimed before this suit was brought was invalid, as an unlawful expansion of the original patent, although the claim on which a recovery was allowed was good, this court, the patent naving expired, but there having been no unreasonable delay in filing a disclaimer to the invalid claim, reversed so much of the decree below as awarded costs to the plaintiff, and affirmed it in all other respects, each party to bear his own costs in this court and one half of the expense of printing the record.
This was a suit in equity to recover for infringement of a patent. The case in stated in the opinion of the court.
Mr. Frederic H. Betts for appellant.
Mr. George Ticknor Curtis, and Mr. Edmund Wetmore for appellee.
Mr . Jus ti ce Bla tch fo rd delivered the opinion of the court.
This is a suit in equity, brought in the Circuit Court of the United States for the Southern District of New York, by James Sargent against the Yale Lock Manufacturing Company, to recover for the infringement of reissued letters patent p. 538No. 4696, granted to Sargent, January 2, 1872, for an “improvement in locks,” on an application therefor filed September 25, 1871 (the original patent, No. 57,574, having been granted to him August 28, 1866).
The specification and drawings of the reissue are as follows:
“ My invention consists in combining with the ordinary combination-wheels, and the other working parts of a combination lock which has no sliding lock-bolt, a bolt turning on a pivot or bearing, which is so isolated or removed from contact with the said wheels as to receive any pressure or strain which may be applied through the separate bolt-work of the safe or vault-door, and cut off the communication between the bolt-work of the door and the wheels or fence-lever of the lock, whereby the position of the slots in the wheels can be determined and the lock ‘ picked,’ as can be done in most cases "where the ordinary sliding-bolt is used without some mechanical device to prevent.
In the drawings, Figure 1 is an elevation of my improved lock, with the back plate removed; Figs. 2 and 3, an elevation and top view, respectively, of the pivoted bolt, the combination-wheels, the cam, and the lever work that connects them; Fig. 4, a perspective view of the pivoted bolt; Fig. 5, a similar view of the magnet and armatures; Fig. 6, a view showing the manner of applying the spindle and cam to a safe or vault door.
A, represents the plate of a safe door, and B, the case of the lock which is applied thereto. C, C, C, are the combination-wheels* and D, the operating spindle. The spindle passes through a hollow stud, a, of the case, and has screwed upon its inner end the cam E, as shown most clearly in Fig. 6. The wheels themselves rest on the stud a. I, is the bolt, turning on a pivot or bearing, q. Its location is such as to rest closely in the rear of the stem, t, of the heavy bolt work of the door, and to hold it out when in one position, but to allow it to retract, to free the bolt-work, when in the other position, said bolt, I, turning on its pivot or bearing to allow this to be done. H is a sliding-bar, which gives motion to the bolt as it is thrown forward or backward, being connected together by cog-teeth p r. The bar slides on studs, n n, by which it keeps p. 539its horizontal position. G is a lever pivoted at f, to bar IL and serving to throw the latter back. It has a hook, 6, Fig. 2, which engages with the bit, d, of the cam, to draw the bar back. The forward motion is given by the cam striking the end o, of the bar IL L is a magnet of thè form shown in Fig. 5, which is suspended on a pivot, i. Its open end rests between armatures h k, which are separated by a brass pendant, I. The armature h is attached to the end of lever G. When the magnet is in contact with the lower armature, h, the dog, g, will be held away from the wheels ; but when raised and brought in contact with the upper armature, k, the lever is released and the dog is then allowed to fall into the notches of the wheels, to release the bolt. The magnet is raised by a roller, c, of the cam, which strikes a bearing, m, of the magnet.
In general principle the magnet is the same as that covered by the patent of Sargent and Covert, May 2, 1865 ; but the construction and arrangement of the magnet and armatures are much simpler and more effective, and constitute one feature of my present invention.
An important feature in my invention is the employment of the bolt I, turning on a pivot or bearing, instead of the sliding• bolt heretofore in use. It is isolated, so to speak, from the combination-wheels and the other main working parts of the lock, and, therefore, any strain which is brought to bear upon it by the heavy bolt-work will be expended on the bolt itself, and not upon the wheels. In the old form of lock the sliding-bolt extends back so as to connect with or come near to the wheels, and any strain thereon is liable to disarrange the lock works.
Another important advantage of the isolation of the bolt is that it increases the difficulty of ‘ picking,’ by being removed from all contact with the wheels. A common mode of picking ordinary locks is to force the bolt back, so as to get a contact with it and the edges of the wheels, by which their position is ascertained. In my lock this cannot occur, as the bolt simply turns on its bearing or pivot, and no back action can bring it or the lever work a*gainst the wheels.
The bolt may not only be of the circular form shown in the p. 540drawings, but of a segmental form, which will serve the same purpose.
I am aware that the combination-wheels themselves have been made with notches, and so arranged that the ordinary sliding-bolt which rests against their edges may fall back and p. 541within the notches, when they are all set. Such is not the equivalent of my invention, as my express purpose is to avoid all contact of the bolt with the edges of the wheels.”
The claims of the reissue, five in number, are as follows, but only claim one is alleged to have been infringed :
“1. In a combination lock for safe or vault doors, a bolt, I, which turns on a pivot or bearing, when said bolt, I, is used in a lock having no ordinary sliding lock-bolt, and in connection with the separate bolt-work of the door, and so arranged as to receive the pressure of the said bolt-work without transmitting it to the wheels or other equivalent works of the lock.
2. In a combination lock for safe and vault doors, I claim the combination of the bolt I, bar H, and cog-connection p r, when said bolt, 7, turns on a pivot or bearing, and receives the pressure of the bolt-work situated outside the lock-works, and intervenes between the bolt-work and the wheels.
3. I claim, in combination with the bolt 7, the bar H and lever G, arranged and operating as herein set forth.
4. I claim, in combination with the vibrating magnet, L, the armatures h k and pendant Z, arranged as herein described.
5. I claim the combination and arrangement of the wheels C G, cam E, lever G, bar H, and bolt 7, as herein described.”
The defences set up were want of novelty, non-infringement, and invalidity of the reissue. .After a hearing on pleadings and proofs, an interlocutory decree was entered finding the reissued patent to be valid and to have been infringed, and awarding a perpetual injunction and an account of profits and damages. The master reported $7771 damages in favor of the plaintiff. The defendant excepted to the report, but the exceptions were overruled by the court and a final decree was entered for the plaintiff, for $7771 damages and $650.17 costs. The defendant has appealed to this court.
It is contended that the first claim of the reissue is void for unlawful expansion, after unreasonable delay in applying for the reissue.
The original patent had three claims, as follows :
“ 1. The rotating-tumbler 7, when separated and isolated in action from the permutation-wheels, and so arranged that any p. 542inward pressure upon the bolt will be exerted on the bearing of said tumbler, and have no action nor effect upon the said permutation wheels, substantially as and for the purpose herein specified.
2. In combination with the turning-tumbler I, the cog-bar II and lever G, arranged and operating as herein set forth.
3. The combination and arrangement of the combination-wheels C, cam-disk E, pivoted lever G, cog-bar H, and turning tumbler 7", the whole operating as herein specified.”
Claim 3 of the reissue is substantially the same as claim 2 of the original, and claim 5 of the reissue is substantially the same as claim 3 of the original, while claims 2 and 4 of the reissue are new claims.
The defendant directs attention to these facts: When Sargent applied originally for his patent, on February 6, 1866, he asked for claim 1 in this form : “ The turning-bolt I, resting on its bearing q, in combination with the mechanism of a combination lock, in such manner as to practically isolate or disconnect it from the main operating parts, substantially as set forth.” Claim 1 having been rejected on the 24th of March, 1866, Sargent, on the ‘29th of June, 1866, changed the claim to the form it has in the original patent as issued, and his attorneys at the same time, in a letter to the Patent Office, explained the new form of claim thus: “ The substance of the first substituted claim consists essentially in providing a rotating tumbler in connection with the bearing on which it rests and the stem of the bolt-work which rests against it, when said tumbler is isolated or disconnected from the combination-wheels, so that any inward motion of the bolt against this tumbler will expend its force against the bearing on which the tumbler turns and rests, and will not reach or affect the permutation-wheels.” The attorneys also said: “ In Mr. Sargent’s device it will be observed that the combination or permutation-wheels are on a different bearing, and located at a distance from the revolving tumbler I, and never in contact therewith, so that the two are practically isolated from each other, and there is no connection between them except through the lever II, which is not within the reach or influence of the pick-lock.” And the specification p. 543of the original patent contained this language: “ The principal advantage of this tumbler consists in its isolation, so to speak, from the combination-wheels and the main working parts. It rests alone on its bearing q, the only part connected . being the cog-bar IL In ordinary locks the sliding-bolt extends back in direct connection with the main working mechanism, and by its constant action and the strain that comes upon it frequently disarranges those parts. This is especially true when the stem or projection t of the heavy bolt of the safe-door rests against the sliding bolt. In this case, when force is applied to the bolt, the wrenching strain upon the bolt and mechanism is very great. In my lock it will be seen that this difficulty is obviated, for any strain that comes upon the circular tumbler, either from the stem t or any other source, is simply expended upon the strong bearing y, and does not reach back to the combination-wheels or any part of the working mechanism. This is of the utmost importance.”
It is urged that emphasis was thus laid on the fact that the turning-bolt or tumbler was mounted on a different bearing from the permutation-wheels, and that it was that arrangement which prevented pressure on it from reaching back to the permutation-wheels; that the original claim, in speaking of the rotating tumbler as “ separated and isolated in action from the permutation-wheels,” meant that it was mounted on its own separate bearing, and did not allow of its being mounted in any other way; that the specification of the reissue does not say that the tumbler I “ rests alone on its bearing, q; ” that the limitation thus contained in claim 1 of the original patent is not found in claim 1 of the reissue; and that thereby an unlawful expansion was made, the application for the reissue having been filed more than five years after the original patent was granted.
But we think the reissue is not fairly open to this objection. The tumbler in the one claim and the bolt in the other are the same instrument. The words “rotating-tumbler Z,” in the original claim, refer to the tumbler described as resting on a bearing “ around which it turns.” The claim of the reissue, in saying that the bolt I“ turns on a pivot or bearing,” expresses p. 544the same idea. The words in the claim of the reissue, “ when said bolt I is used in a lock having no ordinary sliding lock-bolt, and in connection with the separate bolt-work of the door, and so arranged as to receive the pressure of the said bolt-work without transmitting it to the wheels or other equivalent works of .the lock,” are justified by these words in the original claim, “and so arranged that any inward pressure upon the bolt will be exerted on the bearing of said tumbler, and have no action or effect upon the said permutation-wheels.” The word “ bolt ” in the claim of the original meant what in the claim of the reissue is called “ the separate bolt-work of the door,” because what is called in the former “ the rotating-tumbler I” is called in the latter “ a bolt, I, which turns on a ’pivot or bearing.” The proviso in the claim of the reissue* that the bolt I is to be “ used in a lock having no ordinary sliding lock-bolt” does not expand the claim, but, if anything, restricts it. The statement, in the claim of the reissue, that the bolt I is so arranged as to receive the pressure of the separate bolt-work of the door without transmitting it to the wheels, is justified by the statement in the original claim, that the rotating tumbler I is so arranged that any inward pressure upon the bolt will be exerted on the bearing of the tumbler, and have no action or effect on the permutation-wheels.
The words in the original claim, “ when separated and isolated in action from the permutation-wheels,” applied to the rotating tumbler, do not indicate that the mounting of the tumbler alone on its bearing is required, but mean no more than that the tumbler shall be separated and isolated in action from the wheels; and the words of the claim of the reissue have no broader meaning in that regard. If the rotating tumbler or bolt is thus isolated in action from the wheels, the arrangement referred to in both claims is reached. The patentee set forth, as he was bound to do, the method he used, and which he thought advisable; but any method of mounting the revolving bolt which effects the isolation referred to is within either claim. The words “or other equivalent works of the lock ” have no expanding force.
The invention of Sargent consists in combining with the p. 545ordinary combination-wheels, and the other working parts of a combination lock which has no sliding lock-bolt, a bolt turning on a pivot or bearing, which is so isolated or removed from contact with the said wheels, as to receive any pressure or strain which may be applied through the separate bolt-work of a safe door, and cut off the communication between the bolt-work of the door and the wheels or fence-lever of the lock, so that the position of the slots in the wheels cannot be determined, for picking the lock, as in the use of the ordinary sliding lock-bolt, which extends back so as to connect with the wheels. The turning-bolt is an incomplete cylinder, or one in which parts of the periphery are cut away. An extended part of the bolt-work of the door bears against a part of the complete periphery of the turning-bolt, in such manner that the turning-bolt receives all pressure and does not allow it to reach the combination-wheels. The ordinary sliding lock-bolt is, therefore, dispensed with.
Three alleged anticipating devices are set up—defendant’s Exhibit A, defendant’s Exhibits C and D, and defendant’s Exhibit E.
Exhibit A has in the lock-casing a sliding-bolt, and, also, what is alleged to be a turning-bolt. But the latter is only the well-known swivelling-dog, long used to prevent the retraction of sliding-bolts, and so arranged as to be swivelled by a spring when the combination-wheels are gated. As a consequence, the stump or fence bears on the wheels not only with the pressure of its own weight but with the added force of the spring. Any swivelling force applied to the dog causes the stump to bear ' on the peripheries of the wheels, and the picking of the lock is facilitated. The dog prevents the retraction of the sliding-bolt. In Sargent’s patent the lever which carries the stump is so constructed that no turning of the revolving-bolt can bring the lever-work against the wheels. The Sargent revolving-bolt must be acted-upon by the user, while the swivelling-dog in Exhibit A is an automatic latch. In Sargent’s structure the revolving-bolt, the lever which carries the stump, and the wheels, are sufficient to prevent the retraction of the bolt-work, while in Exhibit A the sliding-bolt, the swivelling-dog, the stump-lever and the wheels are all of them necessary.
vol . cxvn—85
The drawings Exhibits C and D show thè Linus Yale lock, which is also illustrated by a lock mechanism. It is a revolving lock which permits and prevents the retraction of the bolt-work of the door, and there is no sliding-bolt. But there are no permutation wheels, or revolving-tumblers, nor any oscillating or sliding tumblers, but the ancient device of pins is used to prevent the revolution of the bolt, the pins entering into holes in the bolt ; and a cross strain can be brought upon the pins, making the picking of the lock comparatively easy. Moreover, the bolt is not isolated from the pins, as it is from the wheels in Sargent’s lock, but parts of the pins are in sockets in the bolt. The pins are thus in immediate connection with the bolt, while Sargent interposes lever-work between the bolt and the wheels, to effect the isolation of the bolt.
In the Butterworth padlock, Exhibit E, there is a revolving-bolt combined with the wheel-tumblers by means of a lever, but there is no “ separate bolt-work of the door,” which is one element of the claim in Sargent’s reissue. Of this padlock the plaintiff’s expert, Mr. Henry B. Renwick, says : “ The padlock has the ordinary hasp attached to the case, and the bolt acts to prevent this hasp from being drawn away from the axis upon which the bolt revolves, and not to prevent bolt-works from being forced towards that same axis. The hasp is a contrivance which must be used with two staples, or one staple and a slotted bar, all of which must be outside of the door. Whereas, on the contrary, bolt-works must be inside of the door, and shoot into sockets in the jambs, it being clear that the hasp could not be used in place of bolt-works, or bolt-works in place of a hasp, even if the former were located outside of the door. I do not think that this lock would even suggest the idea of the combination referred to in the first claim of the Sargent reissue. In order to make the lock fit to be used in combination with bolt-works, even after such idea had been suggested, it would be necessary : First. To provide the lock-case with means of securing it to the door. Second. To elongate the spindle and so contrive it and the dial-plate that they could be separated from the wheel-tumblers and put together again, with the door between them. Third. To alter the direction of the slot in the p. 547case through which the hasp enters, so that the tail of the bolt-works could press upon the revolving-bolt in the line of a radius thereof. If the tail of bolt-works, were introduced into the present slot, any hammering of the bolt-works by the handle upon the periphery of the revolving-bolt would tend to turn-the revolving-bolt upon its axis, and thus cause the stump to be pressed upon the wheel-tumblers in such a manner as to facilitate picking, this result being due to the fact that the line of direction through the slot is not in line of the radius to the bolt, but in line of a sector thereof; further, the revolving-bolt in a padlock, owing to its being necessary that it should enter a slot in the hasp, is weakest at the very point where it should be strongest, if it were to be used in connection with bolt-work; and any good constructor would alter the revolving-bolt of the padlock, so that it would be strongest where it is now weakest, in case it was desired to use a revolving-bolt in combination with bolt works.” It is a marked feature of Sargent’s, lock that the direction of the pressure of the bolt-work of the door on the revolving-bolt is in the line of a radius of that bolt, so that the pressure has no tendency to revolve the bolt. This feature is not found in the Butterworth padlock.
We are of opinion that, as against anything found in the old structures, there was patentable novelty in what Sargent did and what he claimed.
As to the question of infringement, the defendant’s lock, Cole No. 2, has in it a bolt which turns on a pivot, and is substantially identical with the like bolt in Sargent’s patent. It prevents and permits the retraction of the bolt-work of the door in the same manner as Sargent’s bolt. There is no sliding-bolt. The turning-bolt is arranged to serve as a stop to two sets of bolt-works, instead of one; but in respect to one set, there is the same mode of operation in both locks. As the claim of Sargent’s reissue does not require that the bearing of the rotating-bolt should be distinct from the bearing of the wheels, the fact that in Cole No. 2 the bearing of the turning-bolt is on the stud on which the wheels turn, makes no difference in principle, because the action of the bolt »is as wholly separated and isolated from the wheels in the one lock as in the other, and in p. 548each the strain from the bolt-work is expended on the turning-bolt and not on the wheels. So, too, the fact that in Sargent’s patent the fence-lever is connected with the turning-bolt by a rack on the end of the lever engaging with cog-teeth on the bolt, while in Cole No. 2 the end of the lever is pivoted directly to the turning-bolt, does not affect the identity of the arrangement as part of the combination covered by claim 1 of the reissue. The defendant’s lock must be held to infringe that claim.
On the question of damages, the defendant contends that there was no sufficient or legal proof that the plaintiff suffered the damages reported and adjudged, or any other damages. The action of the master, the character of the exceptions to his report, and the view taken by the Circuit Court, are fully shown by its opinion, reported in 17 Blatchford, 244, which was as follows:
“ The master reports that there is no basis, from the proofs adduced before him, to find what profits have been made by the defendant by the use of the ‘ turning-bolt ’ (the infringing device) in the locks made and sold by it; and that, therefore, on the testimony before him he cannot find what profits, if any, are due from the defendant for the use of the ‘ turning-bolt.’
“ The patent on which this suit is brought is a reissue granted January 2,1872. The master reports that, after that time, and in 1873, in consequence of the defendant’s offering and selling to the plaintiff’s principal customers and to the trade generally, locks containing the infringing device, at a less price than the plaintiff was obtaining, a reduction of prices was enforced on the plaintiff, such reduction being, in round numbers, $1 on each No. 5 lock and $2 on each No. 3 lock. Exception one of the defendant is to such finding and report, and alleges that the master should have reported that no such reduction was enforced, and that there was no proof of the amount of any reduction caused by the defendant’s infringement, and that there was no method of computing such reduction, even if it actually existed.
“ The master also reports, that it is in evidence, that, during p. 549the period covered by the accounting, the plaintiff could have manufactured, in addition to the locks he did manufacture, and without materially increasing his manufacturing facilities, all the locks manufactured and sold by the defendant. Exception two of the defendant is to such finding and report, and alleges that the master should have reported that no such additional manufacture by the plaintiff was possible, or that it was impossible without a very great extension of his facilities.
“The master also reports, that it is in evidence, that, during the period covered by the accounting, the plaintiff would have made sales to many of the persons who were induced to purchase from the defendant, at his own established prices, had not the defendant offered its locks at lower prices. Exception three of the defendant is to that part of the report, and alleges that the master should have found and reported that no such sales would have been made, or that, even if made, they would not have been at the plaintiff’s own established prices.
“ The master also reports, that the plaintiff has suffered damage in respect to the matters to which exceptions two and three relate. Exception four of the defendant is to that part of the report, and alleges that the master should have found and reported no damage whatever from the competition of the defendant.
“ The master further reports, that the locks sold by the defendant contained, in addition to the ‘ turning-bolt,’ a device patented by the Rosner patent, for which infringement a claim is made against the defendant in another suit; that, as to the proportion of the reduction of prices above set forth, which should be allowed to the device claimed under the Rosner patent, it is claimed by the plaintiff, and nowhere effectually t disputed by the defendant, ‘ that, in computing the profits on these locks, one-third belonged to and was charged by him to the Rosner patent; ’ and that, admitting this proportion, and allowing, in addition thereto, for any- superior external attractions of the defendant’s locks, and for the number of combinations which they had over those of the plaintiff, and for the shape of the case of the lock, and for the commercial success of the defendant in -effecting sales, where the plaintiff would. p. 550have failed, the master is of opinion that the plaintiff is entitled to recover from the defendant, as damages, one-half of the amount of the reduction in prices caused by the defendant since January 2, 1872; that is, on 1009 No. 3 locks, $1 per lock, being $1009, and on 13,524 No. 5 locks, at 50c. per lock, $6762, being a total of $7771. Exception five of the defendant excepts to the finding and report that the plaintiff is entitled to recover from the defendant, as damages, one-half of the amount of the reduction in prices caused by the defendant since January 2, 1872, and alleges that the master should have reported ‘ no reduction in prices, or no proof of such,’ caused by any infringement by the defendant since said date, and ‘ hence no damages ’ to the plaintiff, ‘ and, consequently, no method of calculating them.’ Exception six of the defendant excepts to the report for that the master erred in making the apportionment of the alleged reduction in the plaintiff’s prices, charging one-half thereof to the alleged infringement of the £ turning-bolt ’ patent, and alleges that no basis existed, in the proof or in law, for such or for any apportionment, or for any award of damages. Exception seven of the defendant excepts to the report for that the master erred in assessing damages which are not the damages suffered by the plaintiff, but are those suffered by the firm of Sargent & Greenleaf, and alleges that the master should have reported that the damage, if any, found to have been suffered by said firm, is not the damage of the plaintiff, who is only one member of said firm, but that the plaintiff’s damage is merely a portion thereof. Exception eight of the defendant excepts to the report for that the master erred in finding and reporting, as damages, the sum mentioned in his report, or any damages whatsoever, and in not reporting that there was no proof of any actual damage suffered by the plaintiff from the alleged infringement.
“ The defendant contends that the competition of the defendant was not the sole cause of the reduction of the plaintiff s prices, and that the proportionate effect of the defendants competition is not attempted to be estimated or ascertained by the proofs. It alleges that the defendant is not responsible for the reduction made in 1873 ; that there were many other causes p. 551which contributed to this reduction; and that the lowering of prices was caused principally by the competition of other fireproof safe lock-makers, and, notably, the New Britain Lock Co., by the fact that safe-makers were making and threatening to make their own safe locks, and by the general lowering of the prices of material and labor and the depression of business.
“ Reduction of prices, and consequent loss of profits, enforced by infringing competition, is a proper ground for awarding damages. The only question is as to the character and sufficiency of the evidence, in the particular case. I think that, on the whole evidence, the reduction of prices by the plaintiff, after January 2d, 1872, on safe locks containing his invention, is shown to have been directly and solely caused by the defendant’s infringement.
“ The master, in his report, allows damages only for the reduction of prices on the locks sold by the plaintiff, that is, 1009 No. 3 locks and 13,524 No. 5 locks. Although the master states that the plaintiff suffered damage in losing the sale of locks sold by the defendant, he awards no damages for that cause. He confines his award to the loss on the locks which the plaintiff sold.
“ The defendant also contends, that the plaintiff is not entitled to recover from the defendant, as damages, the entire amount of the reduction enforced by the defendant’s competition, but only the damages occasioned by the effect of the presence of the infringement; that the burden of proof is on the plaintiff to fix the value of, and to separate the effect of, the infringing devices; that he failed to do so by any proper proof; and that no basis was afforded to the master on which such damages could be computed. But, as the master allowed damages only for the reduction of prices on the locks sold by the plaintiff, and as the essential feature of those locks was the ‘ turning-bolt ’ device, and as an essential feature of the infringing locks was the infringing 4 turning-bolt ’ device in them, and as the plaintiff could not sell his 4 turning-bolt ’ device unless it was embodied in a lock, and as he was thereby enabled to make his profit on the entire lock, and as he was deprived, by the acts of p. 552the defendant in selling at low prices locks containing the patented ‘ turning-bolt ’ device, of the profit he would otherwise have made on the locks which he actually sold containing the ‘turning-bolt’ device, it seems plain that the defendant’s infringement must be held to have caused the entire loss of the plaintiff by the reduction of prices, after allowing a proper sum for any other patented device contained in the defendant’s locks and for any other causes which gave to the defendant an advantage in selling its locks. This is the basis on which the master proceeded, and it seems to me, on a consideration of the evidence, that the master has made all proper allowances and has arrived at a correct conclusion in fixing, as damages, one-half of the amount of reduction in prices.
“ The plaintiff, as the owner of the patent, is entitled to recover the damages in this case. He may be accountable to his copartner for a part of them, but the copartner could not sue on the patent, for such damages or any part of them.”
This is a case where the patentee granted no licenses, and had no established license fee, but supplied the demand for his lock himself, and was able to supply that demand. The market for the lock was limited to safe-makers. No one but a safe-maker wanted or would buy such a lock. The master was unable to determine, from the proofs, what profits, if any, the defendant had made from the use of the turning-bolt. He disallowed all items of damage from the loss to the plaintiff of the sale of infringing locks sold by the defendant, and confined his award to the enforced reduction of price on the locks which the plaintiff sold, caused by the infringement. That this is a proper item of damages, if proved, is clear. It is a pecuniary injury caused by the infringement, and is the subject of an award of damages, although the defendant may have made no profits and the plaintiff may have had no established license fee. As the plaintiff, at the time of the infringement, availed himself of his exclusive right by keeping his patent a monopoly, and granting no licenses, the difference between his pecuniary condition after the infringement, and what his condition would have been if the infringement had not occurred, is to be measured, so far as his own sales of locks are concerned, by the dif-
Opinion, of the Court.
ference between the money he would have realized from such sales if the infringement had not interfered with such monopoly, and the money he did realize from such sales. If such difference can be ascertained by proper and satisfactory evidence, it is a proper measure of damages. The damages to be recovered, Rev. Stat. §§ 4919 and 4921, are “actual damages;” and they may properly include such losses to the plaintiff as were allowed in this case. McComb n . Brodie, 1 Woods, 153, 161; Philp v. Nock, 17 Wall. 460, 462.
The turning-bolt was the essential feature of the Sargent lock. The defendant adopted Sargent’s arrangement, and then reduced the price of the lock, forcing Sargent to do the same, in order to hold his trade. The evidence shows that the reduction of prices by Sargent was solely due to the defendant’s infringement. The only competitor with Sargent in the use of his turning-bolt arrangement, during the period covered by the accounting, was the defendant.
We think the master made proper allowances for all other causes which could have affected the plaintiff’s prices; that the proper deduction was made for the use of the Rosner device in the defendant’s lock; and that the damages awarded are no greater than the testimony warranted.
The decision that the plaintiff, as owner of the patent, was entitled to recover the damages, was correct.
The bill alleges infringement of the reissue generally and especially of the first claim. The answer alleges that the reissue is not for the same invention as the original patent. The defendant contends that this is true as to claims 2 and 4 of the reissue, and that, as no disclaimer of those claims was entered at the Patent Office before this suit was brought, the recovery in this case should have been without costs, under the provisions of 4917 and 4922 of the Revised Statutes, and the decision in Gage v. Herring, 107 U. S. 640, 648. That case holds that the invalidity of a new claim in a reissue does not impair the validity of a claim in it which is only a repetition and separate statement of a claim in the original patent. It also holds that a reissued patent is within the letter and the spirit of the provisions of §§ 4917 and 4922; and that, where a
' Syllabus.
defendant has infringed such a re-stated valid claim of a reissue, the plaintiff, on filing a disclaimer of the new and invalid claims of the reissue, may have a decree, without costs, for the infringement of such valid claim, where there has been no unreasonable delay in entering the disclaimer.
There can be no doubt that claim 4 of the reissue was invalid, as an unlawful expansion of the original patent, on an application for the reissue filed more than five years after the original patent was granted. But the patent has expired, and, therefore, no disclaimer can now be filed. There was no unreasonable delay in filing a disclaimer, as the validity of claim 4 was sanctioned by the Commissioner of Patents in granting the reissue, and this suit was commenced in July, 1872, and the claim was not held invalid by the Circuit Court (both the interlocutory and final decrees having been entered before the decisions of this court, at October Term, 1881, on the subject of reissued patents were made). The result, therefore, is, that
The decree below must be reversed as to the award of costs, and affirmed in all other respects, with interest until paid, at the same rate per annum that decrees bear in the courts of the State of New York, and the case be remanded to the Circuit Court, with a direction to modify the decree accordingly. Each pa/rty will bear his own costs in this court and one-half of the expense of printing the record. Silsby v. Foote, 20 How. 378, 387.